TestmanagementChanging the world one bug after amother…

Test Levels
Image Map
The right side of the "Allgemeines Vorgehensmodell" shows the test levels which include
  • Component Test
  • Integration Test
  • System Test
  • Acceptance Test
The steps in the life-cycle of a product are shown in the graph above. The development of iT-Poducts follows mostly the classic method or increasingly agile.

The Allgemeine Vorgehensmodell was recommended by Barry Boehm in 1979 and was based on the Wasserfallmodell, which Winston Royce created in 1970.

Warning: "V-Modell" is a Trademark of Germany. The "V" does not stand for "Vorgehensmodell". The V-Modell of Germany is called V-Modell XT. Other than this and the wellknown W-Modell, there exists a lot of Project Management Methods, which can be used.

The agile (Project Management-) Framework Scrum was introduced by Ken Schwaber and Jeff Sutherland in 1995. The first Scrum Master was certified in 2003.

In the test step, Component Test, the White-Box-Method is most often used. The other three test steps use the Black-Box-Method.
Stacks Image 3231
In contrast of the White-Box-Tests, the Black-Box-Tests are performed.

In Black-Box-Tests the source code is not applicable - the tests are based on the requirements and the test cases.
Stacks Image 3255
The Grey-Box-Tests are tests, through which Test-Driven-Development (TDD) test cases originate.

In both the Black-Box-Test and the Grey-Box-Test neither require the source code.
Stacks Image 14822

Criteria for test cases:

• the prerequisites
• the input values
• the expected test results
• the postcondition
The Test Infrastructure must be defined and available.

Test Data must be available for the tests.
The definition and set up of each test step is a responsibility of the Test Manager:
  • Test Concept
  • Test Plan
  • Test Steps Plan
© 2018 Holger Mayer Consulting HMC2